Tinubu’s campaign council holds closed-door meeting Tuesday

Members of the newly constituted All Progressives Congress Presidential Campaign Council will on Tuesday hold an emergency closed-door meeting in Abuja.

The development is coming five days after the party’s presidential candidate, Bola Tinubu, failed to kick off its nationwide electioneering campaign in line with the directive of the Independent National Electoral Commission.

Tinubu’s camp also called off Wednesday’s proposed solidarity march that was scheduled to commence from the PCC office on Herbert Macaulay Way in Central Business District to the Unity Fountain in Maitama.

A source told The PUNCH that members of the campaign team are planning to meet with Tinubu in one of its campaign office in Abuja.

He said, “We have been told that we will be having a meeting tomorrow (Tuesday) but it is not something we are hoping to divulge to the media now.

“But I cannot confirm Tinubu will be there because I really don’t know if he is back in the country from his trip to London,”

On the essence of the meeting, the source disclosed that it has to do with a number of issues ranging from the fresh list of over 2,000 appointees for the presidential campaign council, the postponed inauguration and ‘workable’ strategies to kick start the campaign after Tinubu’s approval.

When contacted, the PCC Director of Media and Communication was hesitant about commenting on Tuesday’s meeting but confirmed that the former Lagos State governor is expected to arrive this week.

“He is arriving this week. I don’t have any update for you on the presidential campaign inauguration,” he stated.

But Spokesperson for the APC Presidential Campaign Council, Festus Keyamo, confirmed the meeting.

He said, “Yes, but I don’t know whether it is with the candidate or not but I am aware the PCC is having a meeting”.

Keyamo did not, however, mention the venue of the meeting.

The PUNCH reported that Tinubu had on Friday unveiled a 422-man committee comprising political heavyweights and other notable members to pilot the various sub-committees of the campaign council to drive its strategy for electoral victory in the 2023 presidential poll.

The list of members released by the Presidential Campaign Council Secretary, James Faleke, in Abuja, followed series of postponements and conjectures about those who would be saddled with the task of leading the ruling party’s bid to retain power at the federal level.

The campaign council chaired by the President, Major General Muhammadu Buhari (retd.), has Tinubu and the APC National Chairman, Abdullahi Adamu, as co-deputy chairmen.

Also on the PCC are APC governors, ministers, lawmakers, ambassadors as well as serving and past public office holders.

Zonal and state coordinators, advisers, campaign patrons, directors, deputy directors and secretaries of directorates were also named.

The sub-committees include media and publicity; support group coordination; national youth mobilisation; parliamentarian; trade and economic; agriculturists/commodities; campaign planning; civil societies; Diaspora directorate; election planning and monitoring; finance; fund raising; and humanitarian/social.

Others are ICT/data management; intelligence and security; labour; logistics and support service; medicals; policy research and strategy; protocol and events, and others.

Plateau State Governor, Simon Lalong, retained his position as the director-general and Adams Oshiomhole as the deputy director-general (Operations), while Bayo Onanuga is the Director of Media and Publicity.

Governor Atiku Bagudu of Kebbi State and Chairman of the Progressives Governors Forum was appointed the vice-chairman and state coordinator, while ex-Akwa Ibom State governor, Godwill Akpabio, is the vice-chairman, South-South.

A former female APC presidential aspirant, Uju Kennedy, is the council’s vice-chairman, South-East.

Governor Badaru Abubakar of Jigawa State is the regional coordinator and chairman for North, while his Ebonyi State counterpart, David Umahi, was appointed the regional coordinator for the South-East and Ebonyi State.

Governor Ben Ayade of Cross River was also appointed the regional director in charge of the South-South and his state.

Ondo State Governor, Rotimi Akeredolu, is the zonal coordinator for the South-West and his state, while his Niger State counterpart, Abubakar Bello, will coordinate the North-Central and his state.

Also on the list are Governor Muhammed Yahaya, who is the zonal coordinator for the North-East and Gombe State, and Zamfara State Governor, Bello Matawalle, who emerged as the zonal coordinator for the North-West and the state.

No fewer than 24 actors were also enlisted in the performing arts directorate and they include notable Nollywood stars such as Zack Orji, Jide Kosoko, Saheed Balogun, Foluke Daramola, Nuhu Abdullahi, Bimbo Akintola and Fatiha Balogun, among others. PUNCH

Leave a Reply

Verified by ExactMetrics