Nigerian Students Parliament Holds Seating in Kastina


…Moves motion against JAMB, Acceptance Fees, HND-BSc Dichotomy

By Lazarus Zakaa, Abuja

The Nigerian Students Parliament on 13th March 2020 hold it’s meeting in Executive chamber of Katsina state house of Assembly moved a motion to abolish JAMB acceptance fees and HND/BSC dichotomy.

The meeting which has in attendance 87 members out of 109 members of the Nigerian Students Parliament (NSP) from various senatorial districts in Nigeria were seen present at the plenary of the students parliament to discuss serious issues affecting Nigerian Students.

The National Speaker of the Students’ Parliament; Rt.Hon. Mubarak Aliyu Rimi after calling the house to order, gave room for student parliamentarians to discuss some vital issues as raised by some members.

The student representative representing Kano North senatorial district; Sen. Amal Abubakar called the attention of the house to the high rate of extortion experienced by the students

Sen. Amal also highlighted that it is worrisome to have students buy JAMB Form, sit for the examination, pass and obtain admission letters into the higher institutions of their choice just to be confronted with another examination for admission called Post UTME and after which a huge sum of money will again be required of the students for acceptance fee.

Other student parliamentarians who moved motions where the NSP Deputy speaker:; Rt.Hon.Christian Nwachukwu (Imo East) and Sen.Moh’d Sadiq Abdullah (Kano Central) hampering on HND/BSc certificate dichotomy and Theory-Practicals mode of Learning respectively.

The motions raised, seconded and adopted were properly articulated in a 7page communique to be submitted to the National Assembly, Abuja for further deliberation and passage.

The Parliamentarians also elected Sen. Oso Temidayo (Ekiti Central) as Majority leader, Sen. Nazir Aliyu Mohammed (Kebbi central) as chief whip, Sen. Najib Ahmed Dogonkoli as Minority leader, amongst others.

Present at the plenary as observers were the chairman, Board of trustees of NSP and vice chairman Mbaitoli local government area of Imo state; Rt.Hon. Godstime Chukwubuikem Samuel, the majority leader of Katsina state house of Assembly; Hon.Abubakar Suleiman Korau
Former speaker of Katsina state house of Assembly; Rt.Hon.Sabiu Abdullahi Moduru, the Youth ambassador of YAN Kano state; Amb. Bashir Bello Roba.

Leave a Reply