Nigeria vs Tunisia: 10 things to know about Super Eagles’ next opponents at AFCON

Sunday’s Africa Cup of Nations game between Nigeria and Tunisia will take place at the Stade Roumdé Adjia in Garoua, Cameroon from 8 p.m.

The Tunisian camp had been somewhat ravaged by positive COVID tests and there were no indications yet as to whether some star players, including Wahbi Khazri, will return for the game.

However, here are 10 things to know about Nigeria’s next opponents

Popular name: Carthage Eagles

Rankings: 4 Africa, 30 world

Captain: Wahbi Khazri

Coach: Mondher Kebaier

Qualifying results: Libya 4-1 5-2, Equatorial Guinea 2-1 1-0, Tanzania 1-0 1-1

Scorers: 3 – Seifeddine Jaziri, Saifeddine Khaoui, Wahbi Khazri, 1 – Anis Ben Slimane, Mohamed Drager, Youssef Msakni, Ellyes Skhiri, own-goal: Carlos Akapo (GEQ)

Previous appearances: 19

Best placing: Champions 2004


Goalkeepers: Ayman Dahmen (CS Sfaxien), Ali Jemal (Stade Tunisien), Farouk Ben Mustapha (Esperance), Bechir Ben Said (US Monastir)

Defenders: Ali Abdi (Caen/FRA), Dylan Bronn (Metz/FRA), Mohamed Drager (Nottingham Forest/ENG), Oussama Haddadi (Malatyaspor/TUR), Mohamed Amine Ben Hamida (Esperance), Bilel Ifa (Club Africain), Ali Maaloul (Al Ahly/EGY), Hamza Mathlouthi (Zamalek/EGY), Omar Rekik (Arsenal/ENG), Montassar Talbi (Rubin Kazan/RUS)

Midfielders: Ghailene Chaalali, Mohamed Ali Ben Romdhane (both Esperance), Issam Jebali (Odense/DEN), Seif-Eddine Khaoui (Clermont/FRA), Wahbi Khazri (Saint-Etienne/FRA), Aissa Laidouni (Ferencvaros/HUN), Hannibal Mejbri (Manchester Utd/ENG), Hamza Rafia (Standard Liege/BEL), Ellyes Skhiri (Cologne/GER), Anis Ben Slimane (Brondby/DEN), Naim Sliti (Al Ittifaq/KSA)

Forwards: Seifeddine Jaziri (Zamalek/EGY), Youssef Msakni (Al Arabi/QAT), Yoann Touzghar (Troyes/FRA)

12 players to be absent against Nigeria

However, some of the Tunisian players and the head coach, Mondher Kebaier, have tested positive for COVID-19.

This includes the captain of the Carthage Eagles, Wahbi Khazri, and eleven others.

The other eleven players are Aissa Laidouni, Dylan Bronn, Ghaylène Chaalali, Ellyes Skhiri, Anis Ben Slimane, Mohamed Romdhane, Ali Maâloul, Ben Hmida, Aymen Dahmen Yoann Touzgha and Issam Jebali.

Meanwhile, goalkeeper Farouk Ben Mustapha is suspended from the game.

Leave a Reply